In The Greenhouse: A RARITY

Follow: The English Meadow

Hello again! Another day another blog post to tell you all about what I’ve been up to recently in my garden 🙂 The pace is picking up with the almost onset of Spring! Don’t forget you can follow my blog for regular updates

As well as sowing seeds inside my greenhouse, I have also sown a small minority of seeds that I have kept inside my home on an upstairs windowsill. I have mentioned before that I do not have a heated propagator in my greenhouse, so I have to improvise with seeds that require heat to germinate by starting them off inside my home and I have found it to be a great substitute so far. To save on using my propagators, I like to use sandwich bags sealed over single pots like this because it helps to retain moisture and heat in the pot to create a suitable environment for the seeds to germinate. It’s really inexpensive too! I used my trusty seed blanket which does not block light (which is important for seed germination) and it also helps to retain moisture and reduce the risk of damping off which you may be aware I had some issues with previously.

One of the plants that I started off in this way described above was Commelina dianthifolia ‘birdbill dayflower’ which is a rare flower originating from Arizona. These little babies germinated brilliantly and the other day was the first time this year where finally some of my seedlings have grown enough for me to prick them out! It’s so exciting because it’s the first indication that things really are growing along nicely and it won’t be long until I’ll be starting to plant some of these out! Many of the seeds I am sowing this year flower wise are also perennial, so I’m hoping that if I put in this hard work this year, they should return year after year for me. You can’t beat that feeling of ‘I grew that!’ either. Here are what the commelina looked like before I pricked them out:

20170309_092837

You can have a look at how they look once grown here. I only sowed a few of these seeds in a small pot as I have limited space on my windowsill and I’m going for quality over quantity due to the amount of seeds I have to sow this year. You can see that had I let them grow much more, they would soon have started competing for space and nutrients so it was a great time to pluck them out of there! You need to catch them when they are in pots like this before their root systems begin to mesh into one another because if you try pricking them out when their roots systems have begun to tangle together, you can do damage to the plants.

I selected the best of the bunch and sowed them in the spare line of modules next to my lavender plugs that I potted on the other day which can read all about here. I pricked them out in to general purpose compost to give them the much needed nutrients to help them grow along nicely. They are now inside my greenhouse as they do not require the additional heat they needed for germination.

20170309_093722

They’re still looking great some days later and it’s amazing to finally see some proper growth happening in my greenhouse instead of trays and trays of compost waiting for seedlings to emerge! I just need to keep on top with watering now because there have been some sunny days recently!

20170309_093733

Well that’s all for today, I’ll keep you posted on how they do and hopefully it won’t be long until I’m potting these little ones on and getting them planted out! Thanks for reading today and let me know what seedlings are ready for you to start pricking out! Have any of you grown commelina diathifolia? Let me know your thoughts in the comment section below! Don’t forget you can follow my blog so that you don’t miss out on my updates on what else I’ve been getting up to in my garden recently! Until next time, happy gardening! 🙂

___________________________

Written by Bethany Wright at The English Meadow blog

YOUTUBE – Watch my videos on my youtube channel The English Meadow

Facebook – Follow me on Facebook!

You may also like…

Potting on: Lavender plug plants

In The Greenhouse: Grow Baby Grow

Take A Chance: rock roses and tree lilies

 

Leave a Reply

