The blackberry garden: A host of golden daffodils

I WANDERED lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

-‘I wandered lonely as a cloud’ William Wordsworth

 

Hello! It has been afew days since I have had time to blog. The house is crawling with builders every day at the moment who are all working on our kitchen, so I haven’t had much time to sit down and write. But what I have been able to do a lot of is garden! The weather has luckily been on my side recently so it’s been so great to get out in the sunshine. Today, amongst other things, I dug up some daffodils that had begun to emerge. They are not ones that I planted – they are from a previous owner, but it’s a welcome surprise. They were not in the right place, so I took the plunge and I moved a bunch of them down to where some other daffodils were happily growing away under one of our honeysuckles in an area of the garden I have not mentioned before that I will call the blackberry garden for now. This part of the garden is still a work in progress, but I planted some blackberry canes there the other day, so that’s its name for now!

Anyway here are what the daffodils looked like once I dug them up:

Yep, I know, they don’t look so great and some of the leaves unfortunately broke off whilst I was trying to ease them out. They were planted incredibly deeply which just goes to show that the general rule of planting bulbs just three times their depth is questionable. I got out what I could manage to anyway and planted them into a new trench filled with compost and grit to improve the drainage which in turn prevents the bulbs from sitting in water for an extended period of time and potentially rotting away. Here is how they looked after planting:

I have probably affected their flowering this year but hey, they needed moving and hopefully next year they will have recovered enough to burst into life once more. You can see on the photo on the right the other clump of daffodils that have emerged and if you look closely again, you may be able to see what looks to be grasses or weeds emerging. Well, on closer inspection I discovered this:

20170308_111124

Cool hey! They are tiny daffodils bulbs known as bulblets. Isn’t it amazing how bulbs spread themselves this way? I’ve seen this before with my gladioli when I have dug them up and it’s always so wonderful to see! It surely means the plant is happy and thriving. I’m hoping as the years go by that the daffodils will just naturalise themselves and keep on spreading and give a wonderful show! That’s once beautiful thing about daffodils: it absolutely reaffirms that feeling that Spring is almost here. The bright yellow reminds me of sunshine and bursts so brightly against the old greyness of the Winter we are at the end of… Well the sunny days are starting to feel less and less like a dream recently.

Well, that’s all for today. I have more updates coming soon. I just need to grab the chance to blog when I can! I have shot afew videos so I will be uploading those onto my youtube channel soon, so stay tuned! Until next time, happy gardening!

_____________________________________

Written by Bethany Wright at The English Meadow

2 comments

  1. […] Can anyone give me an idea of what these might be? I have left them alone for now, so I will have clearly photos once they start to get abit larger. Let me know in the comment section below if you have any ideas of what they may be! I LOVE finding new plants unexpectedly in this garden. Someone must have looked after it at some point which is so lovely. I found some daffodils near to this spot earlier on last week which I wrote a blog post about. You can read about that here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

